TWG Meeting on the Revision of NLA Guidelines


The Revision of the National Literacy Awards (NLA) Guidelines was discussed during the Technical Working Group (TWG) Meeting on February 5, 2020 held at the Teacher Education Council (TEC) Secretariat Conference Room, Mabini Building, DepEd Central Office. Mr. Zaldy I. Masangkay, Bureau of Local Government Development Division Chief of the Department of the Interior and Local Government, presided over the LCC Secretariat, TWG and Council Representatives to revise the NLA Guidelines on the Selection Process, Categories and Procedures. The Council also amended the draft DepEd Memorandum on the conduct of the 2020 National Literacy Awards.

Proposed Timetable of Activities for the 2020 NLA conduct, including the selection process of regional entries and the Special Award of Excellence in Literacy, were tentatively settled. The List of Board of Judges (BOJ) for the Outstanding Literacy Program, Outstanding Local Government Unit (LGU), and Special Award of Excellence in Literacy were also agreed upon during the said meeting. Selection on the Outstanding LGU were categorized into Highly Urbanized City, Independent Component City/ Component City, 1st to 3rd Class Municipality, and 4th to 6th Class Municipality. The NLA Score Sheets for the mentioned NLA categories were also presented, subject for review.

The awarding ceremonies for the 2020 NLA will be held in September.

Leave a Comment